Coconut Flour (not) Oatmeal

Breakfast foods are always something that I struggle to enjoy now that I can’t eat my daily vat of oatmeal, or indulge in some pancakes or french toast on the weekend. I’m always on the hunt for something quick and easy that I can whip up and bring to work. I found this recipe on one of my favorite new blogs, and I just had to try it.

I ended up making it twice last weekend AND I’m eating it at my desk at work as I type. It’s just so delicious. The texture reminds me of bread pudding, so of course I’m in love. It just so happens to be dairy, grain and sugar-free.

This recipe can be your “oatmeal” base and then you add anything you see fit. It can be chocolate chips and pecans one day or lemon curd with pistachios the next. The toppings are endless, and with the eggs in the base you get plenty of protein to keep you full until lunch instead of the carby oatmeal slump mid-morning that I would often experience.

IMG_5380.JPG

Coconut Flour “Oatmeal” (paleo, gluten, grain, sugar, dairy-free)
Recipe adapted from Imma Eat That

1 large banana, mashed
2 large eggs
1 Tbsp + 1 Tsp coconut flour
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
toppings: any fruit, nut butter, nuts, dried fruit, coconut, etc.

// Mash banana in a bowl and add eggs and whisk the mixture until smooth.
Add coconut flour, cinnamon, salt and mix until there are no clumps.
Add to a pan on medium heat, and cook like you would scrambled eggs.
Top it with anything you would normal oatmeal. I added strawberries one day, and PB2 the next.

IMG_5389

Leave a comment