Chicken Stir Fry (grain, dairy-free, paleo)

I find that if I put some effort into cooking a “real recipe” I feel more satisfied with my meal, and then I’m less likely to want an indulgent dessert or something after. However, finding time to cook real “recipes” has been hard lately with everything I have going on with work and school (I graduate in a month!!). Then I made a trip to Trader Joe’s and my life was complete. I realized that if I just buy the prepared veggies they sell I can have a meal cooked in no time. They have everything from chopped butternut squash to chopped peppers and onions. I opt for the broccoli slaw which is under $2 a bag and easily has 3-4 servings in it. That bag of slaw has been a lifesaver lately, and I’m loving the versatility.

I also usually roast a bunch of squash and sweet potato and have it in my fridge during the week so that I can add that to my dinners for some carbs. This recipe would also be great if you add some avocado, but I can no longer eat it (that’s another post).

I also chop up some brussel sprouts to throw in with the slaw and cook all that together with some precooked chicken (chicken + water + crockpot on low for 6 hours = chicken all week) and my dijon mustard vinaigrette. Easiest and tastiest meal you can make in under 10 minutes, provided you do some preparing of ingredients prior.

FullSizeRender-2

Chicken “Stir-Fry” (Serves 1)

1/2 cup shredded chicken
1 tsp ghee
big handful of TJ’s broccoli slaw mix
big handful shaved brussel sprouts
1/4 tsp smoked paprika, optional
salt & pepper

Vinaigrette:
1 tsp dijon mustard
1 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
salt & pepper

// Cook brussel sprouts and broccoli slaw with ghee until tender.
Add chicken and seasonings and cook until chicken is warm.
Drizzle over the vinaigrette and enjoy!!

(I added a cooked sweet potato at the end this time, but that’s completely optional.)

IMG_4756

Leave a comment