Restaurant Spotlight: Colossal Cafe

OMG! I have no idea how I’ve had this blog for almost a year and never done a full post on my infatuation of everything Colossal Cafe has to offer. This place can literally do no wrong. Now I know plenty of people who don’t prefer their yeast-based “flappers” over buttermilk pancakes, but I can’t think of a better way to start my morning than with a massive pancake that tastes like my favorite sourdough bread! I guess it’s not for everyone, but there’s always gonna be haters. If you do love them as much as me, make sure to try them with the brie and apple walnut sauce on top. PURE. PERFECTION.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 11.43.03 AM

Good thing they offer literally THE BEST omelets in the Twin Cities area. They’re super thick yet fluffy with mounds of roasted veggies, or sausage and cheese peaking out the sides. Then there’s the breakfast sandwiches. With the choice to get your fave breakfast food (eggs & bacon?) sandwiched between a homemade biscuit, “flapper” (my personal favorite, obviously) or their insanely buttery and delicious homemade bread.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 11.41.44 AM

I can’t possibly say enough about this place. Even their salad dressing for their side salad had me raving! This is the only place in the Twin Cities that can satisfy me these days. I don’t feel deprived when I can’t order the bread or pancakes here because I know that I can still get a massive breakfast sans carbs without paying extra for a side of meat just to be disappointed. My go-to right now is the “Colossal Breakfast.” It’s 2 eggs, a mound of super buttery and crisp hashbrowns, choice of meat (get the ham!) and toast (I skip that, sadly).

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 11.40.42 AM

One super small detail about this place that just makes it even better is their coffee dispensers. No need to wait for someone to refill your cup, AND you can drink as much as you want. Who needs to pay for refills these days?

The menu is semi-small but absolute dynamite. With 3 locations now, Colossal Cafe is gaining steam with breakfast enthusiasts like myself, and there’s no place I would rather spend my mornings or afternoons. It helps that it’s within biking distance from my apartment, but the food coma after makes it kind of hard to get back!

I should mention that this was the ONLY food I missed while I was abroad. Besides wanting to see my family, this was the second biggest reason I came home and didn’t stay in Europe forever 🙂

One comment

  1. Pingback: Pupusas | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

