Sesame Tuna Spring Rolls

When you’re starting a business (like me) you start to go into money saving mode, and I think it’s pretty clear where I’m cutting back on spending money. The protein department.

Canned tuna has been my food staple for the past few weeks, and I can’t say I mind after eating this spring roll recipe I came up with out of pure desperation. I needed a quick dinner I could pack and eat in the car on the way to the lake, and spring rolls are always a compact option that can be eaten cold or room temperature.

Ignore the awful pictures of the rolls because they tasted A LOT better than they looked, promise.

IMG_5782

It was a glorious weekend spent at my parents house in the lake country of Minnesota. There’s nothing like waking up and having nothing to do besides sit on the deck and drink a nice cup of coffee and eat some of my Liège waffles.

IMG_5771

Sesame Tuna Spring Rolls (gluten free)
Serves 1

3 pieces of rice paper
1 cup cooked rice, cooled (follow my recipe for sticky rice)
big handful cabbage
1 can tuna, drained
1 tsp mayo (homemade is best)
1 1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp coconut aminos (soy sauce works if you eat gluten)
salt & pepper, to taste

// Saute cabbage in 1 tsp sesame oil and set aside to cool.
Mix tuna with mayo, sesame oil, coconut amino, salt & pepper.
Assemble rolls by soaking rice paper in warm water until pliable and adding 1/3 cooked rice to the bottom 1/3 of the paper.
Add tuna above the rice and cooled cabbage on top of rice and tuna.
Roll the rolls from the bottom and tuck sides in halfway through to ensure closure.
Eat chilled or room temp.

IMG_5770

 

Leave a Reply

