Breakfast Taco Tuesday

Remember that time when I went through my ‘sticky rice‘ stage- well now it’s my ‘taco stage.’ I shared my (canned) tuna taco recipe last week and ever since I made the breakfast taco bar for Mother’s Day I’ve been obsessed with breakfast tacos. Particularly of the soft scrambled egg kind. No rubbery eggs in my house!

Not only are egg tacos insanely cheap but they’re crazy versatile. Add any veggies you have in the fridge, or if you’re me and feeling lazy on a Monday night- just add a bit of feta cheese and you’re set.

If I wasn’t so lazy I would have gone with the Greek route and added some oregano and olive tapenade with the feta- next time.

IMG_5748.JPG

Breakfast Tacos (gluten-free)

2 corn tortillas (I buy mine from a local Mexican market)
2 eggs
1 tsp coconut oil
1 tbsp coconut milk (regular milk or almond milk will work too)
salt & pepper
2 tbsp feta cheese

Greek tacos: above recipe + 1 tsp oregano in the eggs & olive tapenade as the “salsa”

// Heat non-stick skillet over medium-low heat with coconut oil.
Scramble the eggs and coconut milk very slowly by constantly moving them around in the pan.
Add salt and pepper halfway through and continue stirring until just set.
Warm the tortillas in a damp towel in the microwave for 20 seconds.
Add eggs and feta cheese to the tortillas and have at it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

