Twin Tuesday

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 11.58.16 AM.png

First off, shout out to the University of Minnesota lawn-care workers for the amazing greenery on campus so that we could showcase it in 400 pictures of the twin graduating!

Unless you have the mind of a twin, it’s hard to understand how weird I felt sitting in the stands as my twin sister graduated from college yesterday. Seeing as I finished school in December with a very anti-climactic ceremony (read: shook one hand and no cap and gown, also held in a small conference room). Though I didn’t envy the twin for having to walk across a stage with a thousand people watching, it did feel incredibly weird to not be sitting next to her having the same milestone experience.

In my Mom’s usual fashion, she couldn’t let me get away with not at least pretending I wore the cap and gown in pictures at least (see above). A quick clothing swap with the twin made my mom happy. Though I’m sure people were confused when they saw me wearing the cap and gown and holding the diploma and the twin acting as the supporter.

I can’t mention a family get together without talking food. We had a fantastic (SUPER high-brow) dinner at St. Genevieve in South Minneapolis after the ceremony. I highly recommend anything on the menu though I didn’t get a taste of most things due to the gluten. However, my picky family had rave reviews which speaks volumes!

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 11.54.23 AM

We tried..

Starters
Gnocchi with morel mushrooms (fantastic mushrooms!!)
Charred Calamar (even Dad loved the squid without his favorite crunchy exterior)
Ribeye Tartine (French-style open-faced sandwich with Ribeye, Mom LOVED)

Main Course (picture above)
Salmon with asparagus, leeks, dill and a tangy sauce with rich egg yolk adorning the plate (simply spectacular and perfect spring dish)

Dessert (we ordered all 4 on the menu)
My favorite was the butterscotch creme brûlée because uhhh, BUTTERSCOTCH!

Leave a Reply

