Brunch for a Bunch

I’m back! I haven’t had any delicious food ideas to share in awhile, but today is going to change all that.

I spent the weekend at my parent’s house on the lake to celebrate my older sister’s 24th birthday, and of course celebrate my SPECTACULAR mother! She truly is the greatest, and I wouldn’t trade her for the world!

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 10.44.59 AM

Our Mother’s Day ritual is to always make Sunday brunch. Seeing as I’m the cook in the family out of my 3 sisters I usually end up doing the majority of the work (mostly by choice, I’m a control freak). I would usually whip up a recipe she would usually make, but this year I decided to go a different route and make breakfast tacos.

Boy, oh boy, were they absolutely delicious, and so versatile. My mom isn’t a fan of eggs unless they are masked with cheese and veggies so she opted to skip my soft scrambled eggs in her tacos and added diced chicken sausage instead. Whereas I’m not eating meat so the eggs were my protein of choice. See, everyone wins.

Variety truly is the spice of life. I also made crispy breakfast potatoes with peppers and onions, and no brunch in my family is complete without a massive bowl of berries. Oh, and mimosas of course 🙂

I highly recommend doing DIY breakfast tacos for your friends. I bought the corn tortillas from my favorite Mexican place in Minneapolis, El Burrito Mercado, to make prep even easier. That way I could spend time with my Mommy instead of in the kitchen.
Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 10.44.44 AM

Breakfast Potatoes

4 yukon gold potatoes
1 small onion
1 green pepper
1 red pepper
salt & pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp butter

// Dice potatoes into cubes and place in pot of cold water with salt.
Bring the water to a boil and boil for 6-8 min or until just tender.
Drain the potatoes and let dry completely.
Heat oil and butter over medium heat in a cast iron skillet.
Add peppers, onions, pinch of salt and pepper and cook until onions are translucent and remove from pan.
Add more butter and oil and put dried potatoes into the pan with generous amount of salt and pepper.
Very important to not flip the potatoes until crispy on the bottom.
Flip them, and once they’re crispy on both sides, add the pepper and onion mixture back and stir.
Done.

DIY Taco Bar

Protein options:
Bacon (bake 20 min at 400 in single layer on sheet tray)
Chicken sausage (Aidell’s brand is delish, chop and pan fry)
Soft scrambled eggs (cook the eggs on low and keep stirring until cooked through)

Toppings:
Cheese (I used gruyere & cheddar)
Avocado (mash with squeeze of lime and salt)
Salsa (jarred worked for me)

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Taco Tuesday | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

