Best Crispy Potatoes

I have an undying love for potatoes, and I blame my jaunt in Ireland for that.

Shredded, boiled, fried, broiled, raw… I’ll eat it!

That’s what I love about lazy weekends; I can spend my morning making a nice potato brunch that I can sit down and thoroughly enjoy instead of scarfing down anything I can find while sitting at my work desk. Instead of my usual crispy hashbrowns, I decided to make some crispy ‘smashed’ potatoes, and wowza, they were fantastic!!

The recipe couldn’t be easier, and the oven does most of the work so minimal prep is necessary for restaurant-style potatoes.

The key to getting crispy on the outside but creamy in the middle potatoes is soaking AND boiling the potatoes before baking. The soaking gets rid of excess starch, and the boiling allows the potatoes to get super crispy on the outside without undercooking the inside. Plus they have to be soft to smash them.

IMG_5347.JPG

Crispy Smashed Potatoes

1 lb baby red potatoes, cut in half
2 tbsp olive oil
Salt & Pepper

// Cut the potatoes in half, and place them in a pot with cold water and let sit for 20 minutes to an hour.
Preheat oven to 425.
Drain the starchy water and add new cold water.
Bring the water to a boil, and boil the potatoes for 10 minutes.
Drain the water and rinse the excess starch off the boiled potatoes.
Place the potatoes face down on a greased baking sheet, and use a spatula or fork to smash the potatoes down.
Drizzle with remaining olive oil and add seasoning.
Bake for 30 minutes, and then flip the potatoes and bake for another 20 minutes or until golden brown and perfectly crispy.

Serve with some scrambled eggs, and sautéed kale while enjoying the nice Spring day.

IMG_5352

 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: The Best Sticky Rice (2 recipes!!) | To-Eat List
  2. Suaylia · April 13, 2016

    Hmmn potatoes…yummm

    *Homer Simpson drools.

    Like

Leave a Reply

