Creamy Carrot Soup & Whole50?

It’s finally Day 30 of my Whole30 challenge.

I didn’t go into it looking to lose weight, I just wanted to get my diet back on track. Which I did. I may have a lost a couple pounds in the process but nothing like other people’s crazy Whole30 transformations. I didn’t expect that because the food on the Whole30 wasn’t all that much different than what I had been eating before.

I noticed a crazy shift in my overall energy level, if anything. I’m not longer falling asleep in the middle of the day at work or not wanting to do anything after work/at night that didn’t involve Netflix and a blanket. Now I thrive working out at 9pm every night.

My Whole30 isn’t actually over. I’m planning to do a “Whole50” which will hopefully then lead to a “WholeLifetime.” I don’t think I’ve gotten my diet as under control as I hoped in 30 days because I still get lots of cravings and feel deprived it’s just that I didn’t give into them for the 30 days. I feel that if I don’t commit to more days mentally I will fall off the tracks. I want scrambled eggs with lots of cheese more than anything.

I may have to be a bit lenient on the alcohol front since my social life was nonexistent on the weekends after 7pm. Turns out people would much rather binge drink than watch a movie and drink water with me…

Anyways, tomorrow begins Day 31 of my Whole50 (at least) and this soup recipe is what I’ll be enjoying to celebrate finishing the original 30 days.

FullSizeRender-2

Creamy Carrot Soup (dairy-free)

2 lbs carrots (I used baby carrots because that’s all I had)
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp curry powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cumin
pinch of nutmeg
lots of salt & pepper
3 cups homemade bones broth (store bought works too, but not as healthy)
1 cup water

// Heat olive oil in a pot on medium heat.
Add carrots and after they’re a bit brown, add seasonings and allow them to “toast” in the oil in the pot.
Add water and bone broth and let simmer, covered for 20 minutes or until carrots are tender.
Put soup in a blender and blend until smooth.
Add back to pot and simmer for 20 minutes to an hour for flavor to develop.
Top with some chives and enjoy 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

