Twin Tuesday

What’s the best thing about being a twin?

If you asked my twin that question last weekend she would have said, because I can ask her to make me pancakes at the drop of a hat just because it’s National Pancake Day.

She asked and I delivered.

I would have joined in on the festivities BUT I was 21 days into the wonderful Whole30 program, and pancakes wouldn’t have really fit the bill. She requested pancakes of the cornmeal variety, so they were gluten-free. I will definitely make them again when I’m back to eating most foods. I might extend my Whole30 to a Whole50 just because I’m not seeing as many results as I know I can get. I may have to bring some alcohol back though because my college social life has suffered. Coffee date anyone?

Back to National Pancake Day!

This day should actually be considered my birthday 😉 I love pancakes more than life basically. I was happy to make the twin pancakes while she did ALL the eating. I was eating vicariously through her though. It was satisfying to some extent…

I’m definitely not planning a Whole30 over National Pancake Day next year, that’s for sure!

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 9.56.43 AM.png

Cornmeal Pancakes (gluten & sugar-free)

1/2 cup masa corn flour
1/4 cup fine-ground cornmeal
1 cup milk (coconut or almond milk work too)
1 egg
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil (butter works too)
big pinch of salt

// Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until it’s smooth, no lumps for this pancake recipe.
Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat.
Scoop 1/4 cup of the batter and let cook about 2 minutes.
Flip and cook another 2 minutes on that side. Don’t flip again.
Stack them on a plate and enjoy with a friend or yourself like my twinny did.

One comment

  1. fondufondue · March 7, 2016

    Great idea to make pancakes out of corn flour! I’m allergic to wheat, rice, and oats, so this was a really cool find:) I have a ton of recipes wheat/rice/oat free, made of whole foods on my blog! I hope you follow:)
    http://fondufondue.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

