Strawberry & Banana Smoothie Bowl

I’m just over one week into the Whole30 eating plan, and I’m honestly not feeling much better. Who woulda thunk that taking all sugar, alcohol and gluten (& more) out of your diet would make you feel worse? It’s beyond me, but I’m gonna stick to the full 30 days because I’m no quitter!

My breakfasts have been less than spectacular lately, as I’m trying to figure out what foods still aren’t agreeing with me (I’m talking to you, sweet potato). I’m also trying to cut back on all my fruit intake as the fructose in the fruit doesn’t sit well according to the last week. No wonder I would feel crappy after consuming 6 massive cups of berries at my mom’s Sunday brunch spread.

I guess ‘too much of a good thing’ is a very true statement…

When I have time before work to sit down and enjoy my breakfast, I like to make a smoothie bowl instead of slurping down my smoothie at my desk at work. It’s so easy to throw the frozen ingredients in a blender, add protein powder and go 🙂

IMG_5201

Strawberry & Banana Smoothie Bowl

1 frozen banana
1/2 cup frozen strawberries (fresh will work too)
1 cup water
1/2 cup coconut milk (full-fat is best)
2 scoops Hemp protein powder
1 tbsp grass-fed gelatin
1 tsp cinnamon
optional toppings: chia seeds, coconut flakes, nuts/seeds, etc. (I only had chia seeds on hand)

// Blend all ingredients until smooth, and top with any toppings your heart desires!

Cheers to getting up in time for work on Monday, unless you’re lucky and don’t work on National Holidays…

Leave a Reply

