Cucumber & Dill Coleslaw (paleo, dairy, sugar-free)

Dill is #1 is my book. I can’t get enough of that pickle taste in my life, so when I came across a recipe for coleslaw in the Smitten Kitchen cookbook collecting unnecessary dust on my book shelf, I decided I must make.

I’ve never been one for mayo drenched cabbage, so this vinegar based “dressing” was the perfect alternative. I tweaked the recipe to make it paleo, by skipping the sugar and using white wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar.

Did you know distilled white vinegar is made with wheat?? I think that’s the one thing I learned from my nutritionist that I didn’t already know. Talk about a waste of $500 :/ BUT she is a great person to bounce ideas off of, if anything.

Whole 30 update (4 days in)**
Despite all of my friends pressuring me to go out and drink for Valentine’s Day, I’ve decided I will stick to the plan and have single fun sans alcohol. You people won’t break me!! Sticking to the strict diet hasn’t been much of a challenge though. I’ve been living off of plantain chips to help keep the deprivation away.

IMG_5228.JPG

Cucumber & Dill Coleslaw (adapted from Smitten Kitchen cookbook)

1 head cabbage, sliced thinly (I used a bag of cabbage with carrots- 400g)
1 english cucumber, remove seeds and slice thinly
1/2 cup white wine vinegar
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp good quality salt
2 tbsp chopped fresh dill

// Combine vinegar, water, and salt in a bowl and whisk until salt is dissolved.
Put cabbage, cucumber and dill in a large bowl.
Pour dressing over the top and stir.
Let marinate in the fridge for a couple hours.

I serve mine with some chicken on top for a nice tangy dinner dish 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

