Whole30 & Soufflé Omelette

My diet has really gone off the deep-end lately. Think lots and lots of sugar, and a few too many waffles. Well needless to say my stomach isn’t taking it well, so I decided to embark  on my first Whole30 adventure in an effort to take control of my food life.

For everyone who isn’t familiar with the Whole30, you basically don’t eat any grains, sugars (not even honey), dairy, ALCOHOL, and for me, nuts (never sit well in my tummy) for 30 days.

What do I even eat, you ask? Well lots of veggies and meat and some fruit (I’m slightly fructose intolerant) so keeping my fruit intake low is best :/

I made the genius decision to start on Super Bowl Sunday, so good thing I’m not a football fan because my night was less than eventful. I’m feeling a heck of a lot better than the rest of my office this morning though 😉

I’ll keep you updated on my adventure throughout the 30 days, but in the meantime, I have a fancy recipe to keep your Monday morning moving.

A soufflé omelette, or ‘omelet’ if you’re not as cool. Ha.

It’s basically a super fluffy omelet that takes a few more minutes to make due to the insane amount of whipping of the egg whites, but it’s worth the effort for a fancy meal in the end.

FullSizeRender-17.jpg

Soufflé Omelette (serves 1)

3 eggs (you can use as many eggs as you’d like)
1 tsp coconut oil
sautéed veggies or any filling you’d like

// Separate yolks and whites and whisk yolks until slightly pale.
Put whites into a stand mixer and whip on high until stiff peaks, about 3 minutes.
Add 1/3 of the white to the yolks and mix in well, then add the remaining 2/3 and fold them into the yolk mixture.
Add coconut oil to pan on medium heat.Pour egg mixture into the pan and cook for 2 minutes and then flip it, or put a lid on the top to cook it through.
Sprinkle fillings on top and fold into half moon and serve 🙂

FullSizeRender-18

 

Leave a Reply

