Crockpot Short Ribs (Paleo)

The problem that a lot of people have when cutting out grains and dairy and going “paleo” is that they can’t find enough protein sources. Or maybe that’s just me. But since I can’t really eat nuts and all dairy is out of the question, then how’s a girl to get this protein without going broke?

Chicken is always a great option, but I love shopping the sale meats at my local grocery store. There is usually some form of chicken up for grabs for crazy cheap, but this week I stumbled on some short ribs. I don’t tend to cook beef as it’s hard to find grass-fed options that won’t leave my wallet empty. Plus I almost always have Applegate Grass-Fed Beef Hot Dogs for my work lunch so eating beef for 2 meals a day is a bit much.

I decided to just go for it and buy the short ribs. I didn’t have an idea of what I wanted to do with them, but that’s when the crockpot comes out. It’s my savior. My night in shining armor. My everything. Kind of exaggerating.

8 hours later and my meat was perfectly cooked, falling off the bone and ready to devour. I added a side of sautéed veggies with coconut aminos (gluten-free soy sauce) for a crunchy side.

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

Crockpot Short Ribs

3 lbs grass-fed beef short ribs
1 lime, juiced
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne
2 tsp salt
2 cups water

// Place short ribs in crockpot and squeeze the lime juice on top.
Mix seasonings and then sprinkle it over the meat.
Add the water on top and cook for 6-8 hours on low.

FullSizeRender-3

 

Leave a Reply

