Creamy Sweet Potato & Kale Soup (dairy-free)

Tips to surviving temperatures well below O…

  • Make this soup.
  • Preheat your heated blanket.
  • Turn on Netflix.
  • Never leave your bed.

That has been strategy the last 4 days, and I can say it’s honestly working. Until I have to go to work…

On a Netflix note, ever since watching “Making A Murderer” I’ve been really into crime things, and based on my conversations with friends/top picks on Netflix, so is most of the country. So I’ve been binge watching Criminal Minds, and honestly, where has this show been my whole life?? I know the characters are fictional, but those people are crazy smart!

Back to the food, I had a bunch of old sweet potatoes that needed life ASAP, so I just boiled them. I planned to make “home fries” post-boiling, but I had already eaten brunch at that point, so they just went to the fridge in all their boiled glory 😉

Then I was thinking, while watching Criminal Minds, I should just make a soup out of them. I immediately got up and threw them in a pot with kale and bone broth and was very very pleased with the outcome, and it only took about 15 minutes. I threw some chicken in my bowl for protein, but that’s totally optional. So without further ado…

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Creamy Sweet Potato & Kale Soup

2 large sweet potatoes, chopped and boiled*
1 tbsp olive oil
2 large handfuls of Kale
1/2 cup coconut milk
4 cups bones broth (any stock/broth will work)
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt

// Heat olive oil in a large pot on medium heat.
Add chopped sweet potatoes, kale and seasonings and cook until kale has wilted.
Pour in broth and coconut milk and bring it all to a boil on medium.
Turn off the heat and let cool before pouring in a blender to puree.

*You can’t use uncooked sweet potato that’s not boiled, but you need to cook it longer so they soften before blending.

FullSizeRender

One comment

  1. pinkiebag · January 20, 2016

    A perfect filling winter warmer. Thanks for sharing.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

