Surviving Minnesota

I turned on the news this morning and the first thing I heard was “It’s going to be deadly this weekend.”

Now, if I hadn’t been looking at the TV I would have thought the apocalypse  was finally going down, but sadly it was just the weatherman. He was informing all of the stupid Minnesotans that we are going to be in for some really really unpleasant temperatures this weekend. Honestly, I don’t go outside much between October and April in Minnesota anyway, but thanks for the warning, Sir.

I feel like I should be used to the cold after 22 years of these awful Minnesota winters. I think I just enjoy it because it’s an excuse to buy a nice new jacket every year or how wearing layers allows me to cover up my ever increasing winter weight (Did I mention eating more also keeps you warm?). Oops.

This weather also brings the inevitable sicknesses, but I’m fighting them off this winter with some gut healing and warming bone broth soup. I told you all about my bone broth fast from hell. Well this time I’m not fasting; just making soup out of it which is much much more appetizing.

This really isn’t a recipe as much as it is just a bowl of everything healthy I could find in my fridge, but it was delicious never the less.

IMG_5118

Bone Broth Soup

Making the bone broth:
3 grass-fed beef bones (easy to find at most Co-ops)
3 types of organic veggies (I used celery, carrot and onion)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp salt

// Throw all ingredients in a crockpot and cover with water.
Cook on low for 12-24 hours and then strain.

Soup:
2 cups bone broth
6 frozen brussel sprouts
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 handful broccoli slaw (from Trader Joe’s)
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 tsp turmeric
salt & pepper

// Place all ingredients in a small pot and heat up until brussel sprouts are tender.
Squeeze the lemon in and have at it.

 

Leave a Reply

