Dark Chocolate Mousse (dairy, sugar, egg-free)

I find myself constantly craving chocolate in the darkest of forms, but I can only eat so many Trader Joe’s 85% chocolate bars (seriously the best!!) before it’s concerning. Sooo I’ve been experimenting with making other forms of chocolate treats that are stomach friendly.

Well lactose-free friends I’ve done it!

I literally ate the whole batch while watching the Golden Globes last Sunday. That damn Eddie Redmayne just kills me! So darn good-looking and that accent… hearts all around! This mousse is the Eddie Redmayne of desserts, ya know? But not quite as gorgeous.

I realize my picture is less than delicious looking, but it’s the best I got before it disappeared and I couldn’t hold the recipe from you any longer. Just take my word for it, it’s insanely delicious and totally customizable which is exactly what I plan to spend next weekend doing. I will be making batches and batches of this light airy mousse in as many varieties that I can think of, and hopefully getting a much more appetizing snapshot.

IMG_5120

Dark Chocolate Mousse

1 full can coconut cream (or 2 cans coconut milk refrigerated and cream scooped from top)
2 tsp gelatin
2 tbsp cold water
1/4 cup boiling water
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt

// Stir gelatin with cold water and let sit for 1 minute then add boiling water and stir and set aside until cool.
Whip coconut cream until smooth.
Add cocoa powder, maple syrup, vanilla and salt and mix thoroughly.
Add gelatin mixture and mix again and then refrigerate for at least 6 hours.

Enjoy with some chocolate shaving on top or just out of the tupperware like me…

Leave a Reply

