2015 & Pear Crostata

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 11.37.50 AM.png

I think 2015 was the most challenging, yet rewarding year I’ve had.

Challenging in that I was forced to make some tough decisions regarding my future, but rewarding because those decisions brought me where I am today and I couldn’t be happier.

I learned so much about myself this past year, and made a lot of mistakes in the process, so I’ve created a list of the top 15 things I learned this year. I could probably come up with tons more, but 15 sounds like plenty.

  1. Imperfections are beautiful. I’ve spent so much of my life sulking over not being, or looking perfect (as do most women) but I’m starting to love the cards I was dealt.
  2. You can’t make everyone happy. Striving to please everyone is a lost cause, so it’s okay to be selfish sometimes and think about yourself.
  3. Negativity gets you nowhere. I’ve been known to be quite the pessimist in life, but NO MORE. For obvious reasons.
  4. Make time for people you care about. Spending time with family is something I always cherished, but I need to make more of an effort to get home and do that. Even just a phone call.
  5.  Let the small things go. I tend to worry about the stupidest things, so I’m going to start stressing less over a missed workout, or people being late to dinner. Just as long as no one died, everything is fine :/
  6. No one’s diet is perfect. Food is a huge stress in my life. With such an unhappy gut 75% of the time I need to focus more on not eating foods that I know will cause that, but also not beat myself up when I do. Tomorrow’s a new day.
  7. Home cooked meals cure all. I spent my entire childhood eating a home cooked meal every night from my mom, but I never really realized how lucky I was until college. I’m vowing to put more effort into cooking real recipes instead of eating the same old scrambled eggs and veggies every night.
  8. You can’t actively search for love. A lady once said that you should spend your college years solely searching for a significant other because after college it’s impossible. Well that idea sat with my for 3 years and now I’m saying no. I’m done searching for “the one.” He’ll come when he’s ready 🙂
  9. Support other women. Why do women always have to beat each other down to feel better about themselves? Believe me, you won’t feel any better. Compliments and kindness go a long way sometimes.
  10. Brunch with friends is a must, sometimes. Contrary to what I said for #7, sometimes you just need to eat out. I love nothing more than getting together with friends and family in the morning, and spending hours noshing on eggs and potatoes of all varieties. The occasional pancake too.
  11. Spend money on experiences and not items. After traveling Europe for 4 months, and taking countless vacations; it has finally sunk in that I value seeing the world more than that cute J. Crew sweater. One Burberry scarf can get you 3 Ryanair flights from Dublin to Croatia. Let that sink in.
  12. My body can go without food for at least 4 days. Now this is definitely something I learned in 2015, but I definitely don’t recommend it. Read about it here.
  13. Going to work should never be dreaded. I’ve had so many jobs I didn’t enjoy in my lifetime, so since graduating college I’ve vowed to follow my dream of opening a bakery (read about it here). Stay tuned for what I learn doing that.
  14. I can’t drink like I used to. Freshman year of college was a whirlwind. I could drink my weight in sugary alcohol concoctions and feel chipper as ever the next morning. That is far from the case now. One glass of wine has me waking up feeling like I got in 10 bar fights the night before, minus the bruising.
  15. Stop beating around the bush. I’m notorious for not saying exactly how I feel or telling people what I want. My motto was, “What you don’t know won’t hurt you.” Well it has hurt me every time, so I’m done. This year is about asking for what I want, and being upfront and honest.

Your reward for reading all of that is this delicious Pear Crostata I whipped up a few days ago. It’s super super simple and a delicious dessert that everyone will enjoy.

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Pear Crostata

Pie Crust recipe

Filling:
2 pears, thinly sliced
2 tbsp flour
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
zest of 1 lemon
juice of 1/2 lemon

// Preheat oven to 350.
Mix all filling ingredients in a bowl until pears are evenly coated.
Roll out pie crust in large circle on parchment paper.
Line the pears up on the crust, leaving 1 1/2 inch border of crust.
Fold the crust edges up and over the pears.
Bake for 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

