Buttermilk Biscuits

With the wonderful holidays over (besides New Year’s) it’s hard to revert back to not eating cookies for 3 meals a day, but if it wasn’t for my gut issues I don’t think I would go back. Desserts all day, 365 days a year? Please!

Wouldn’t that be the life? Provided the sugar didn’t rot your brain and insides…

Before I say a final goodbye to the wonderful Christmas season I want to tell you all about it (well the food at least). To start off, on Christmas Eve me aunt made a Porchetta that she bought at Trader Joes!! I tell ya, that place can do no wrong! Everyone at the table was thoroughly impressed, and of course it allowed me to educate people on what Porchetta actually is. Basically it’s pork heaven that originated in an Italian region, that’s really the gist of it, but my explanation to them was much more in-depth 😉

I then woke up Christmas morning with a serious pork hangover, but nothing some good family time, and gift opening can’t cure 🙂

I decided to add some biscuits to our usual Sunday brunch spread, because Minnesota is basically Georgia, right? Yeah I’m a bit off, but I don’t care because they were absolutely delicious, especially when smeared with my homemade honey, vanilla butter!

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 11.19.30 AM.png

The Fam bam then headed to Gram’s for a nice dinner of fondue. Yes, that’s our Scandinavian Christmas tradition, fondue. Then came the cookies and corn syrup laden popcorn balls. And I wonder why I feel like death while I write this. It will take me weeks to recover from all that, but I’m completely fine with that because Christmas is a time to say yes to every food (and alcohol) item thrown your way.

Those biscuits sure helped soak up the mimosas during brunch, which is a definite win!

FullSizeRender

Buttermilk Biscuits (from Carla Hall on The Chew)

2 cups flour (+ more for counter)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter (very cold and cut in cubes)
1 cup buttermilk
1 tbsp butter, melted

// Preheat oven to 450.
Whisk flour, baking soda and powder, salt together in a large bowl.
Add butter cubes and use a dough cutter or fingers to “pinch” butter into the flour mix until butter is in small chunks.
Mix in buttermilk with a wooden spoon until just combined.
Pour dough out onto a floured surface and put flour on top too. Pat down until about 3/4 inch thick.
Cut dough into biscuits with a biscuit cutter and place on a baking sheet.
Brush tops with melted butter and sprinkle salt on top (optional).
Bake for 15-20 minutes.

Honey, Vanilla Butter

1/2 stick of butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tbsp honey

// Mix all ingredients and serve in a small ramekin.

It’s all puppy approved 🙂

IMG_5053

 

 

Leave a Reply

