Sandwich bread (grain, dairy, sugar-free, paleo)

More cassava flour experiments goin’ down.

I’m kind of in love with this flour, and the flaky and chewy texture you get from using it. I found a recipe for bread using it this time and immediately got baking.

I’ve been making coconut flour breads (here and here) for awhile now, but I’m not the biggest fan of the eggy texture that results from using coconut flour. I also like using almond flour, but unfortunately almond flour does not like me, so that rules that out. So with the discovery of this new flour made from yucca, I don’t miss the other options I felt that I was stuck with. If there’s one thing I learned about paleo eating, it’s that you can never feel “stuck” eating something. You have to enjoy everything, and not feel like you’re being restricted to certain foods.

Sometimes I just need a piece of crostata. I may not feel great after I eat it, but it makes my heart happy sometimes. The pain after it proves to me why I eat the foods I eat, too, so I can feel great when I wake up in the morning instead of hitting the snooze 40 times to avoid the grogginess.

I’m slowly healing myself one loaf of cassava flour bread at a time 🙂

FullSizeRender-5

Cassava Flour Sandwich Bread (recipe adapted from Cook It Up Paleo)

6 eggs
1/3 cup mashed banana (applesauce works too)
4 tbsp ghee
3/4 cup Cassava Flour
1/4 cup psyllium husk powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar

// Preheat oven to 375.
Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil, ghee or butter (not paleo).
In a large bowl mix the eggs and banana.
Add the cassava flour, psyllium husk powder and salt and mix until there’s no lumps.
Combine baking soda and apple cider vinegar and then pour it into the bowl and mix again.
Pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish and bake for 30-35 min.

FullSizeRender-6

 

Leave a Reply

