Paleo dumplings

So I impulse bought a bag of cassava flour from Amazon. If you don’t know what cassava flour is, it’s yucca that is dehydrated and then ground into a flour. That bag then sat in my cupboard for 4 months. I blame my lack of experimentation with paleo baking lately, but this weekend I finally peeled the bag open and started cooking.

I started with the SUPER simple dough recipe from Predominantly Paleo. She also has tons of other delicious recipes so check out her blog.

The great thing about the recipe I used is that it’s so versatile. Just make the dough base and go from there. You can add cinnamon for a sweet dough and fill it with some chocolate chips, or even mashed banana. OR you could add herbs like thyme or some cayenne pepper to make more savory dumplings, and then fill them with meat and/or cheese.

For my first time, I just stuck with the base dough recipe and added some pork (that was on sale) I had cooked in my crockpot earlier* (easiest recipe ever) for the filling. I was very pleasantly surprised at the texture of the dumplings. They were almost flaky, and they have a nice chew to them which I really enjoyed.

I will definitely be using more Cassava Flour in my life.

IMG_5033

Cassava Flour Dumplings (recipe from Predominantly Paleo)

1 cup cassava flour
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup olive oil (ghee or butter)
pinch of salt

// Preheat oven to 350.
Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
Flatten out dough on parchment paper until 1/4 inch thick.
Use a cup or round cutter and cut out discs.
Fill the discs with any filling your heart desires.
Fold the dough over into a half moon shape and place on parchment lined baking sheet.
Bake for 20 min, then sauté in a pan with ghee to crisp up the outside.

* Crockpot pork recipe: Throw 8 (or so) boneless pork chops in the crockpot with a can of tomato sauce and a can of water. Add some dried thyme, salt and pepper and cook for 6-8 hours.

 

Leave a Reply

