Hasselback Tots

I had no idea I loved potatoes so much until I went off to Ireland. No, they don’t actually eat that many potatoes there, but just being there made me really embrace the “potato culture.”

Now since coming back from studying abroad I love nothing more than roasting up a big batch of potatoes. They don’t reheat all that well, but I don’t mind because I usually eat them cold/straight outta the fridge anyway… I’m one of those cold pizza lovers too, so I’m going to assume it spans most carbs (not you fried rice, yuck).

Anyways, I’m sure you’ve heard of the “Hassleback” potato craze all over the web and Pinterest especially, well, I decided to make mini versions of them. Not only does it take far less time to cook, but I’ve made the bold decision to say that they also get much crispier as minis.¬†The thing that makes these extra crispy is the added step of par-boiling them prior to roasting. It allows for the inside to cook and get creamy so that when they’re thrown into the hot oven they just need to focus on the outside crisp. Make sense? I thought so.

Par-boiling is actually the key to making any roasted potato much tastier.

This picture may be deceiving, but I don’t recommend eating these potatoes or my “Fridge Bowl” while watching the new American Horror Story season. I think I lost my appetite multiple times in just the first 15 minutes…

FullSizeRender-2

Hasselback Tots

16 oz. fingerling potatoes (any small potato will work)
1/4 cup olive oil, divided
salt & pepper

// Preheat oven to 425.
Add potatoes to a pot of cold water and bring it to a boil.
Let boil for 10 minutes, or until potatoes can easily be punctured with a knife.
Drain the potatoes and pat dry.
Cut slices in the potatoes almost all the way through, but make sure you leave it intact at the bottom.
Throw them on a sheet pan and drizzle with 2 tbsp olive oil and season with salt and pepper, and stir so the potatoes are all coated.
Cook in the oven for 20 minutes.
Drizzle the potatoes with 1-2 more tbsp olive oil and then cook for another 20 minutes or until they are crispy enough for you.

FullSizeRender

 

Leave a Reply

