Breakfast roll-up (paleo)

When it comes to breakfast I’m always on the hunt for something new to satisfy me, so when I woke up Sunday morning to an empty, clean kitchen I decided to bake something to dirty it up a bit. I didn’t feel like spending another hour perusing the internet looking for inspiration, so I dug up the recipe for my Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls and made them savory.

The recipe is so versatile as far as filling, and if you don’t want to use pumpkin in the batter; banana, applesauce, sweet potato, basically any puree will work instead. Just make sure what you choose is not too liquid-y.

I was working with very limited ingredients after coming back to an empty fridge at my apartment (no thanksgiving leftovers made it past Saturday in my house), so I just added some scrambled eggs. Bacon would have been my dream, but I didn’t have any thawed. My bad.

IMG_4932

Breakfast Roll-up

Dry Ingredients:
1 cup coconut flour
1 cup tapioca flour
2 tbsp psyllium husk powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp sea salt

Wet Ingredients:
3/4 cup pumpkin puree (see above for other options)
1 cup water
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup melted coconut oil

Filling:
3 eggs
pinch of salt

// Preheat oven to 350.
Scramble the eggs in a pan until set but still runny, then set aside.
Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk (very important so the psyllium doesn’t clump), and then mix together wet ingredients.
Add dry ingredients to the wet and mix well.
Put dough onto a piece of parchment paper and form into a large rectangle that’s 1/2 an inch thick.
Line eggs on the dough and roll up the dough using the parchment paper so it doesn’t crack.
Cut the log into 8-10 rolls and place on a pan, but make sure to space them out, otherwise they will come out doughy in the middle.
Cook for 30-45 min, or until they’re firm to the touch and golden on top.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

