Risk Taking

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 10.32.56 AM

I’ve been contemplating what my plan is for after graduation…

Move to Europe? Or just get out of Minnesota?

Quit my 9-5 job and take a year off and travel?

Move back into my parent’s house (yeah right)?

Keep interviewing for marketing jobs I don’t want?

These are the thoughts that go through my head day and night. I graduate in exactly a month and I don’t have it figured out. Though, apparently I’m not supposed to have it figured out, according to my advisor.

FullSizeRender

Then I had an epiphany coffee date with one of my good friends, and I realized that I don’t have to do something I don’t love for the rest of my life. I’ve always said my dream is to own a bakery/cafe, but why do I just keep talking about it?

Why don’t I DO IT?

My friend happens to be a PR and Marketing guru, and we talked all summer about opening our own business ‘one day,’ but I don’t want to keep saying ‘one day.’ I want that day to be today!

I watch lots of ‘Unique Sweet’s on Cooking Channel and they are constantly showcasing small bakeries run by someone with a passion for baking ever since they can remember. They just made what they loved their income too. It’s that simple (but not really).

After working with Rise bagel for a good chunk of my summer, I’ve received some good insight into what it takes to get your product out there and create a buzz around it. They also found a niche in the Twin Cities market, and decided to create an incredible product to fill that.

My dream has been sitting at the top of this blog for almost a year. It’s my picture of the incredible liége waffles I made a little over a year ago. That’s the thing, I feel that I can provide something that the Twin Cities doesn’t have. I haven’t found a good Liege waffle since I went to Europe (they’re traditionally from Liege, Belgium). Chicago has a great one at Waffle cafe, but that’s quite the drive. I want to bring my love of liége waffles to the Minneapolis and St. Paul area.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 10.26.41 AM

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: 2015 & Pear Crostata | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

