Coconut Flour Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls (dairy, grain, sugar-free, paleo)

Lately I’ve had this urge to bake EVERYTHING I SEE. The only thing that’s stopping me is my inability to stop eating my baked goods 5 seconds out of the oven. Rachel’s willpower = NONE. Then something changed. I woke up Sunday morning without an appetite. I thought, now is the perfect time to make something delicious that will last long enough for at least my roommates to snag a few bites.

You see, I love sharing my food and enlightening people on how good paleo recipes can be. I get a lot of weird looks for things I eat or make, but that’s just because they don’t know what it is. My roommates had never heard of coconut or tapioca flour, but as soon as they tried these cinnamon rolls, all weary notions were out the window.

Honestly though, these cinnamon rolls could make a believer out of anyone! THEY’RE SOOOO GOOD!

The texture isn’t dry and cakey like most coconut flour recipes. The rolls are super moist, chewy and oh so gooey! I dare you to stop yourself from eating just one, like me (though I had another for “dessert”).

IMG_2765 IMG_2770

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls (Recipe adapted from The Spunky Coconut)

Dry Ingredients:
1 cup coconut flour
1 cup tapioca or arrowroot flour
2 tbsp psyllium husk powder
2 tsp baking soda

Wet Ingredients:
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup water
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp honey or maple syrup
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
1/2 tsp vanilla

Filling:
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (I used 1/2 pumpkin & 1/2 mashed banana for sweetness)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 to 1/2 cup coconut sugar (I used less than 1/4 because I used the banana)

// Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Whisk dry ingredients together. It’s very important so that the psyllium husk doesn’t clump up.
Combine wet ingredients in a bowl.
Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix really well using an electric mixer.
Press the dough out into a rectangle on parchment paper until 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick, and sprinkle with flour.
Spread filling evenly over dough.

IMG_4827

Roll up dough and cut into 8 pieces.
Place the rolls in a pan, spreading them out.
Bake for 30 minutes, and let them set for about 10 minutes before eating.

I enjoyed them hot and straight outta the fridge 🙂

IMG_4828

 

Leave a Reply

