Coconut Flour Pancakes (with Gelatin)

I’m always on the quest for the best coconut flour recipes. It’s my go-to flour when it comes to baking because I try to stay away from nuts, so ta-ta almond flour. When I came across this recipe I just had to try, and it helped that I had all the ingredients on hand to whip up in my hungover state.

FullSizeRender-3

I’ve posted this coconut flour recipe.

And this almond flour recipe for pancakes.

But today I bring you my new favorite!

The addition of the gelatin makes them very moist and fluffy which is sometimes hard to do with coconut flour, plus gelatin has tons of health benefits. After spending a large majority of my weekend indulging in some not so ‘paleo’ foods I was really in need of some extra gut healing in the form of pancakes, ya know?

FullSizeRender-2

Coconut Flour Pancakes with Gelatin (recipe adapted from Empowered Sustenance)
Serves 1

2 eggs
2 tbsp coconut flour
1/2 tbsp gelatin (I use this)
1/2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup full-fat coconut milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Ghee for cooking

// Whisk the coconut flour and gelatin in a small bowl.
Add the eggs and coconut oil and whisk well.
Pour in the coconut milk and cinnamon and whisk until super fluffy.
Let the batter sit for 10 minutes for coconut flour to absorb some of the liquid.
Heat a pan over medium heat and add ghee to pan.
Pour heaping tablespoons into the pan and cook until center and edges look opaque, then flip and cook another 2 minutes.
Makes about 6 small pancakes.

FullSizeRender

2 comments

  1. Liz · October 19, 2015

    I love using gelatin when baking gluten free! And your pancakes look divine!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: I Bought a Cookbook? | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

