No Bake Protein Bars (grain, sugar, dairy free, paleo)

Hellooooo Fall. I’m not adjusting to the drop in temperature in Minnesota very well, so I’m spending a lot of time cozied up in my apartment either cooking or just lounging with a cup of tea and my thoughts.

One thought that came to my mind is, how do I cut down my egg consumption? I generally eat around 4 eggs a day which can be a bit excessive, so I was thinking of some new portable ways to get protein in me while I’m running from class and work.

The first month of school I had been eating Epic bars as my breakfast with a banana, but as soon as those bars go back to full price at Whole Foods, I bail. I’m not too happy to spend $3 on a not very substantial breakfast, but the $2 when on sale was more appealing. My stash ran out, so I turned to hard boiled eggs, but when my dinner is usually fried or poached eggs and veggies, I got sick of the egg world.

Enter the wonderful protein bar.

I usually put hemp protein powder in my smoothies, but most days I can’t take a smoothie with me to class, so I needed something I could throw in my bag for later, but it had to utilize my protein powder. I found this recipe on one of my favorite paleo blogs, and changed it a bit for my liking. They’re also no bake which makes them easy to whip up and freeze for a quick breakfast or snack.

FullSizeRender-4

No Bake Apple Pie Protein Bars (recipe adapted from The Big Man’s World)

1 1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup protein powder ( I used this hemp protein)
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 cup pumpkin seed butter
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup applesauce (I used my crockpot recipe)
1/4 cup coconut milk

// Put all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
Melt the pumpkin seed butter and maple syrup in the microwave until very soft.
Combine all ingredients with the dry ingredients and mix well.
Add more coconut milk if too dry.
Push into a parchment lined baking pan or loaf pan for thicker bars.

Portion into individually wrapped bars and freeze until class time or snack time!

FullSizeRender-5

Leave a Reply

