Crockpot Applesauce (Fall in a bowl)

I never knew how deep my love for applesauce was until I made it myself.

After returning with pounds and pounds of apples from a weekend at home with my parents; I knew there was no way I could eat 30 apples before they went bad, and baking a bunch of apple pies wasn’t really gonna help my waistline.

Applesauce it is, and I can tell you after eating half of the crockpot already, this stuff is making all my Fall dreams come true. It still has texture from some of the apples that didn’t completely melt, but the addition of the cinnamon and vanilla after it’s cooking is where the real magic happens. Sitting down with a bowl of warm cinnamon applesauce is one of the greatest things about Fall (or life in general). Especially when the air is crisp and you’re watching Scream Queens (so bad, but so good) all day.

I highly suggest you hit up your nearest orchard this weekend and pick up as many apples as your little arms can carry, and gently toss them in your crockpot. The smell alone makes it worth it!

IMG_4748

Crockpot Applesauce

15 apples, chopped
1/2 cup water
juice of half a lemon
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla

// Throw apples and water in the crockpot and put on low for 6 hours.
Use a potato masher to mash the apples once done.
Remove from crockpot and add lemon, cinnamon and vanilla.

Bring entire crockpot bowl to the couch and eat away πŸ˜‰

FullSizeRender-2 FullSizeRender-3

3 comments

  1. thoughtswithdildo · October 14, 2015

    What a lovely idea! I’m curious – what’s the benefit of seasoning afterward instead of cooking it in the whole time? Thanks for sharing!

    -Ophelia
    https://thoughtswithdildo.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Rachel Leigh · October 14, 2015

    Hi Ophelia,
    Thanks for stopping by! The cinnamon and vanilla haven’t been cooked down and they don’t lose their freshness if added after, so I enjoy the taste much more πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Pingback: No Bake Protein Bars (grain, sugar, dairy free, paleo) | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

