Crockpot Chili

When your friend requests chili, you make the dang chili!

I’ve been dying for some hearty soup now that fall has kind of arrived in Minnesota (80 on Sunday??), so why not throw everything in my handy crockpot and come home from class with my friend to unveil the delicious Cauldron of Fall! It smelled like falling leaves and pumpkin carving with the chili cooking all day, and I couldn’t have been happier.

After scarfing down multiple bowls of chili and catching up with my friend, we had the brilliant idea to go to our one love (Trader Joe’s) and pick up a couple pumpkins for carving this weekend. My friend has never carved a pumpkin before!!! I was shocked so I’m going to pass on my pumpkin carving knowledge and show her how it’s done, so stay tuned for post pumpkin carving pictures next week.

FullSizeRender-23

Back to the actual chili though, it has no beans and it’s packed with soft chunks of sweet potato that didn’t turn to complete mush while crockpotting (it’s a word)! I also had a zucchini leftover from making zucchini bread earlier in the week (major flop recipe), so I just chopped it up and threw it in too. So simple! This chili wasn’t lacking spice by any means, and the small amount of cinnamon gave it a nice warmth and balance. This chili is on point, and couldn’t have been easier to make!

FullSizeRender-21

Crockpot Chili (recipe adapted from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen)

1 lb. ground beef
1 15 oz. can tomato sauce
1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 cup water
1 onion, chopped (I used a red onion, but any kind will work)
2 large sweet potatoes, cubed
1 zucchini, cubed
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tbsp chili powder (I used half regular and 1/2 smoky)
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of sea salt
Avocado chunks for garnish

// Cook the ground beef in a pan and cook until still a bit pink.
Place all ingredients in the crockpot, including the cooked beef, and stir.
Set on low for 8 hours and come back to a perfectly cooked meal.
Top with a bit of avocado and dive-in!

FullSizeRender-22

Leave a Reply

