Raw Macaroons (dairy, sugar, grain-free, paleo)

You know that feeling when you find gold? When you know you discovered something great? You lose sleep thinking about it? You stand at the open fridge just staring at it?

Well that’s how I feel about this recipe. I’ve discovered a recipe that I absolutely love! It all started when I (kinda) made the mistake of buying Hail Merry Macaroons impulsively at Whole Foods last week. I ate the whole bag in just over a day, and kinda felt bad about it for 5 seconds. But ya know, they are just so dang good!! But the price… CRAZY!

I was looking at the ingredient list and thought to myself that there’s no way I can’t just make these at home in like 2 minutes. Well sure enough I did just that last night and the only reaction I needed from my sugar-lovin twin was, “HOT DAMN!!”

She was an instant believer, and she doesn’t even like coconut, but she mentioned that the chewy texture you get from both the coconut flakes and almond flour is super delicious!

FullSizeRender-17

Raw Macaroons (recipe My Heart Beets)

1 cup finely shredded coconut
1/2 cup almond flour (grinded my own so it was a course texture that I quite liked)
6 tbsp coconut oil
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 tbsp maple syrup

// Combine all ingredients in a food processor until it forms a sticky ball.
Using a tablespoon, scoop out round balls and place in a container.
Refrigerate for at least 10 min but a couple hours resulted in the best firm texture.

FullSizeRender-18

Eat them right outta your hand (according to my lovely pictures), but just try to stop at 1 of these! It’s impossible!!

Leave a Reply

