Squash ‘Porridge’ (dairy, sugar, grain-free)

I’ve been in a breakfast rut. Nothing ever sounds good to me besides a huge stack of pancakes, but then again the thought of my stomach churning all day post-glutenous-pancakes sounds incredibly unappealing.

So I’ve been on the hunt for something that’s warm for these falls days, nourishing, and delicious. On the paleo diet that’s kind of easier said than done, especially when you’re low on time. None of those ‘magical’ overnight oats for this girl. I also try and avoid eggs for breakfast as they are usually a large part of my lunch or dinner (though I could easily eat them for every meal).

Breakfast ‘porridge’ to the rescue. I love me some starchy squash (in moderation, because it can be harsh to digest sometimes), AND I LOVE LOVE LOVE anything coconut so voila!

Squash + Coconut anything = a darn good way to get me outta bed.

So it was set. I would pick up an acorn squash (tend to be on the sweet side, which is perfect for breakfast) and some coconut flakes/milk.

It turns out that I was right. Shocker 😉

Enough about my love for carby veggies and coconut, here’s the real gem… Though it looks like something not so appetizing, I promise it’s delish!

FullSizeRender-8

Squash ‘Porridge’ 

1 acorn squash (any squash will work)

2 tbsp coconut flakes

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup coconut milk (any milk will work)

optional add-ins: chocolate chips, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, etc.

// Cut squash in half and roast in 400 degree oven until tender 30-45 min.

Let cool then scoop out and place in a bowl.

Sprinkly on the coconut flakes, and drizzle on coconut milk.

Grab a spoon and start shoveling (into mouth…)!

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend! Anyone do anything particularly exciting to begin the fall season?

2 comments

  1. Liz · October 5, 2015

    This looks divine! I just purchased a squash this weekend and didn’t want to use if for the old standard. I WILL BE TRYING this one 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  2. Rachel Leigh · October 5, 2015

    Fantastic! It’s so simple and delicious, and who doesn’t have tons of squash around this time of year? Haha enjoy, and let me know what you think 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

