Cilantro Cauliflower Rice

My go-to grocery shopping destination lately has been Trader Joe’s. I don’t necessarily go for the cheap prices, because if I was focused on that I would strictly shop at Aldi. I go for TJ’s quality products and even better customer service.

Did you know that you can sample ANYTHING in the stores if you ask? Apparently Trader Joe’s has a policy that if a customer wants to try one of their products, the employee has to let them! THAT’S INSANE (in a good way). Though I haven’t tested it myself, because I feel like it would be weird for them to open a bag of something that I likely won’t buy due to my college budget… I have been dying to try a few of their snack products, so this might be a good way to stave off hunger while I shop.

Anyways back to what you’re really here for- Cauliflower Rice 😉

I was at TJ’s and checking out when the cashier stopped at asked if I wanted a “less brown” cauliflower. Honestly I had just chosen the largest one in the bunch, but sure why not really get my money’s worth by getting the creme de la creme of cauliflower. They weren’t able to find a better looking one on the shelf, so they WENT ALL THE WAY IN BACK TO HAND PICK ONE!! I wasn’t expecting such incredible customer service for a dang cauliflower. Anyways I got my top-crop-cauli and headed home to make some rice with it.

This is my new favorite easy side dish (besides my roasted sweet potatoes), and I can make a huge batch and have some fluffy rice all week long. However, it doesn’t tend to last around me, as I am lacking desperately in the willpower department at this time!

FullSizeRender-6

Cilantro Cauliflower Rice

1 head cauliflower, cut into small florets
1/2 bunch of cilantro
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tbsp ghee

// Place florets in a microwave safe bowl with a bit of water.
Microwave until tender or 6-8 minutes.
Place in food processor or high powered blender and pulse until the texture resembles rice.
Put the “rice” mixture into a large saute pan with the ghee, and crisp up the rice for a few minutes.
Add seasonings to pan, and stir.
Remove from heat and add cilantro.

Then eat straight from the pan or portion into a small bowl like me (though I ate multiple bowls).

Also, if anyone has tried the “Sample anything at TJ’s” with success, please comment and tell the world about your experience 🙂

FullSizeRender-7

2 comments

  1. Everyday Sarah Jane · September 19, 2015

    Trader Joe’s has the best of everything!

    Like

  2. fondufondue · March 7, 2016

    Yum! I have a cod dish with a cauliflower side I picked up from the cold bar at Whole Foods… I’ve been wanting to make my own cauli-rice dish, so this is great inspiration!
    http://fondufondue.com/2016/02/07/cod-and-cauliflower/

    Like

Leave a Reply

