Coconut Flour Pancakes (grain, dairy, sugar-free)

My diet has been anything but exciting in the last month. Unless you consider brussel sprouts and eggs for every meal something to write home about… so when I woke up without a hangover last Saturday I thought, “Let’s actually put some thought into my brunch!”

I’ve been trying to stay away from nuts/seeds so coconut flour would have to do. I took inspiration from some fellow bloggers and whipped up a fluffy batch of coconut flour pancakes for myself.

My roommate was making Bisquick waffles at the same time, ironically… It really brought me back to my freshman in college days when I would host ‘Waffle Wednesday’ in my tiny dorm room. I would whip up batches of Bisquick waffles, but would always use chia seed eggs instead of real eggs because why not?! Those waffles were a hit, I tell ya!

These pancakes tasted just as good though, and I credit that slightly to me cooking them up in a pan of my Homemade Ghee. That way they could get nice and crispy on the outside to contrast the fluffy interior.

Plus they take T-minus 2 minutes to throw together, so what’s not to love! Bye bye Bisquick!

IMG_4645

Coconut Flour Pancakes (Serves 1)

2 tbsp coconut flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
2 tbsp coconut milk
1/2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

ghee to grease the pan/griddle

// Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and mix thoroughly.
Let batter sit for a few minutes so the coconut flour can absorb the liquid a bit.
Spoon big dollops in a pan, and cook for 3 minutes then flip and cook another 3 minutes.

Flop onto a plate and enjoy with your most favoritest toppings from your childhood 🙂

FullSizeRender-5

3 comments

  1. MmrliRuddy · September 17, 2015

    Reblogged this on In Between Moderation and commented:
    Have been wanting to experiment with coconut flour. Might use this one.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Coconut Flour Pancakes (with Gelatin) | To-Eat List
  3. Pingback: I Bought a Cookbook? | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

