Homemade Ghee

When I switched over to a grain, sugar and dairy-free lifestyle, I didn’t realize that I would end up missing DAIRY the most. It pains me to have to ask for “no cheese” when I go out for brunch or I’m really craving a burger (bun-less). I just miss that rich and creamy taste that only cows can provide, or goats because goat cheese is life!

Also, after spending 4 months in arguably the ‘Dairy Capital of the World’ (Ireland); I really started to miss my butter. Don’t get me wrong, I can eat coconut oil like there’s no tomorrow, but sometimes I just wanna to fry an egg in something buttery and sinful (but not that sinful). Sooooo along came GHEEEE!!

I was a bit intimidated to make it at first because I wasn’t sure if my homemade ghee would end up being 100% dairy-free, but it turns out it’s pretty obvious if it is or not (make sure there aren’t chunks in your end product). If it’s clear and gorgeous, you’ve got yourself some darn good ghee! Plus you just saved a couple bucks making it yourself! Winner.

FullSizeRender-4

So here’s how to do it…

Homemade Ghee

2 bricks of grass-fed butter (I used Kerrygold)
cheesecloth or coffee filters
canning jar or any glass storage

// Place butter in a medium saucepan on medium heat.
FullSizeRender

Meltdown the butter then turn the stove down to low or medium-low.
Continue cooking and the butter will go through a fizzy and very bubbly stage, but that’s supposed to happen.

FullSizeRender-2

After about 15-20 min the butter will have settled and the milk solids will have browned and are either floating or sunk to the bottom.

FullSizeRender-3

Keep cooking for a few more minutes and then remove from heat.
Strain through a cheesecloth, or coffee filter; making sure that non of the burnt solid pieces make it through the strainer.
I store mine in the refrigerator but it can be stored at room temperature. I’m just weird like that!

Slather on grain-free toast, or fry up some ‘fluffy almond flour pancakes‘ in it. NOM NOM NOM, butter for all!!

Leave a Reply

