A Weekend in NYC

The friends I made studying abroad in Dublin are some of my best friends to this day. We may live on opposite sides of the country or even world, but the connection to them will be forever.

I was sitting at work one day and decided to buy a roundtrip ticket to New York City to visit part of “The Band” (a nickname we gave a group of 5 of us that were pretty much like family in Dublin). I got two of the guys to come from Maine and D.C, as well, so that we could all have a mini reunion.

It was on of the most fun weekends I’ve had since Dublin, and I don’t regret spending an entire paycheck just to get there!

As usual it turned into a food tour of NYC but I can’t say I was disappointed in the least, but we also did some sightseeing because it’s freakin NYC!!!

I arrived on Thursday afternoon, and my friend Julie met me at the airport. Our first stop in NYC was obviously to Mario Batali’s, ‘Eataly.’ I had been to the one in Chicago (which is much bigger), but I couldn’t pass up stopping for some Porchetta! 1/2 lb of Porchetta for one please šŸ™‚

IMG_4536

After walking around and shopping all day, we took a long break people watching in Central Park before stopping at Dylan’s Candy Bar for some Stroopwafels and then off to the Upper East Side for dinner at Serendipity 3. I opted for their omelet, because it’s never too late in the day for breakfast!

IMG_4527 IMG_4530 IMG_4531 IMG_4532

IMG_4534

Day 2 was filled with even more walking and sweating (it was 90 degrees!!) We started our day at MUD because Dylan Sprouse from Disney Channel apparently used to work there, so our 12 year old selves were secretly hoping for a sighting haha! We didn’t see him, but we did get a super delicious breakfast to bring the life back to us before our friend Drew’s bus came.

IMG_4540

We opted out of paying $30 to go to the top of the Rockefeller Center, and paid $5 to take the Tram from Manhattan to Roosevelt Island instead! The view was incredible, and the Island is a PERFECT place to escape from the cramped city. I’m also loving my Nike Internationalist sneakers! They pair perfectly with both dresses and jeans šŸ™‚

IMG_4603

IMG_4575

Drew finally got into the city (so great to see him again!! I miss my little brother haha), so we took him to the Chelsea Market for some dinner. After walking around the entire place at least 5 times we all decided on something to get! Julie went Mexican with a taco and Drew got a scallop burger (looked amazing)! I continued with my protein/meat obsession and got an entire half chicken for $10! That’s crazy cheap for NYC. I also got a side of veggies for the same price of a chocolate bar… That doesn’t seem right…

Chelsea Market is definitely a must see/eat at in the city!!

IMG_4565 IMG_4566 IMG_4568Ā IMG_4560 IMG_4561

Our last friend, Tim, arrived on Day 3, so we immediately took him to eat. At Smorgasburg!!!

I can’t even contain my excitement for how great this place is!!!

It’s right on the river by the Brooklyn Bridge and it’s tons of foods stands selling everything from homemade ice cream sandwiches to ramen burgers. I was on a quest to find some serious meat, and boy oh boy did I find it!! The Carnal stand was offering up a massive Beef Rib with a tomato salsa of sorts. IT. WAS. HEAVENLY.

IMG_4579 IMG_4580

I also got ‘Zoodles’ (zucchini noodles) from the Regal Vegan stand. Covered in creamy dairy-free pesto. It hit exactly the right spot! I was one happy carnivore/vegan? Identity crisis!

After consuming so much meat I needed a nice refreshing beverage to wash it all down. Enter the whole coconut from the Lumpia Shack I normally don’t like coconut water that doesn’t have flavor added, but I just had to drop the $5 to see what real coconut water straight from the coconut is like. Verdict: It’s nothing like the store bought stuff! So fresh, and then I scooped out the soft coconut meat! Pure bliss in Brooklyn!

IMG_4584

All around incredible time with some of my favorite Americans in the BIG APPLE!

IMG_4602

All

One comment

  1. Pingback: Twin Tuesday | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

