Restaurant Spotlight: The Copper Hen

When my mom texts me saying she’s gonna be in the city for the weekend, my first question is always always always, “Will you be around to get brunch?” Thankfully this past weekend it was a firm “YES!” My dad even joined us, as they were in the city for a wedding. He’s not a huge ‘fancy breakfast’ guy, but for the sake of me wanting to try somewhere I can’t usually afford, I looked past his un-fancy palate and chose a place I had been dying to go back and try again.

The Copper Hen.

For brunch, I ordered the ‘Farmer’s Breakfast’ which consisted of potatoes, cheesy scrambled eggs, a sausage patty and the most amazing bread pudding like french toast I had ever tasted. It came with a dollop of cinnamon whipped cream which I could have eaten by the bucket full.

Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 3.30.27 PM

The sister opted for the lighter option, but regretted not ordering the apple and walnut pancakes after seeing them come out. She instead ordered their homemade yogurt and granola. She also really enjoyed it, but was in need of a bit more food for someone with such a large appetite (she can out eat her bf)!

My dad ordered the ‘pork belly benedict’ and seemed to enjoy it based on the fact that his plate was empty after five minutes, and my mom went for her safe option, ‘biscuits and gravy’ (sans eggs). She’s not a huge eater, but she almost finished her entire plate, so that’s saying something!

Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 3.30.03 PM

My mom was also in charge of providing desserts for a party that same night, so she wanted to pick up some classy desserts to serve her guests (I’ve mentioned she’s not much of a baker). I said Copper Hen would be perfect then, because they make amazing desserts which we could then pick up as we finished up our brunch. Danielle handled our large cake and cupcake order and she could not have been a sweeter person.

I sadly wasn’t invited to the party that my parents threw, so I didn’t get to try the desserts, but from the looks and smell I would have really enjoyed them. My mom also said they were incredible, so I’m gonna take her word. Besides, the scone I enjoyed at our family brunch was enough to win me over in the dessert area. It was the lightest yet butteries scone I had ever had, and was not dry in the least bit (a lot of scones fall into the super dry category).

I highly recommend heading over to Eat St. in Minneapolis and enjoying a cute brunch here! It’s now one of my absolute favorites!

P.S. they also offer Dean’s Kombucha on their drink menu which was an automatic 10 points in my book!!

Leave a Reply

