Twin Tuesday

The bond that twins can have is much deeper than people realize, and it’s the type of bond that is unbreakable.

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 3.15.47 PM

I’ve been reading a book called the Ice Twins, and it centers around a couple from Scotland who have identical twin daughters, Lydia and Kirstie. Lydia tragically dies at the age of 6, and it leaves the other twin feeling lost without the one person she did everything with for the last 6 years. The twist in the story is that the remaining twin, Kirstie, claims she is actually Lydia and it leaves the parents very confused as to which twin they actually have left. The twins were so identical that they parents really don’t have any way to find out which twin they are still living with, and the horror of not knowing which twin is which is an awful thought that the parents don’t want to face.

This book really hit me hard because we are each others fall back. We have our own lives, but anytime we need someone we always have each other within arms reach. She’s my security blanket, and as much as she would hate to admit it, I’m hers. If some horrible were to happen I feel like it would affect us a lot more than we realize.

One really interesting thing they mentioned in the book is that dogs can differentiate twins when humans can’t. Dogs do it through scent. I don’t want to give anything away but I feel like that fact is going to be important in the end of the book.

This is a great read, and more than ever, the story is really hitting home. We spent a lot of time apart when I went abroad and then the twin left too, and our relationship has taken a beating lately. This book is making me realize just how great I have it by being born a twin, and that I should never take it for granted.

IMG_2302

This is a sappy post, but sometimes I don’t want to just talk about food and stupid day-to-day life shenanigans. Sometimes I want to use this blog to reflect on just how good I have it, so I never forget it!

Leave a Reply

