Nectarine & Blueberry Pie

I ate pie for breakfast AND dessert…

But ya know what? That’s totally fine with me because the pie was covering the basic food groups (as long as vegetables aren’t one) 😉

FullSizeRender-6

It was also kind of my pre and post-bike ride meal so it was all cancelled/sweat out on my ride, right?. I just want to say that there’s nothing better than cruising around Minneapolis on a nice bike! I’ve been meaning to do a post on my favorite places to bike, but for now, I give you pie!

This pie is the best paleo recipe to happen to me since my discovery of the uses of bacon fat circa January 2015. I’ve shared the crust recipe before on the blog, but this time I took it to the next level and made a semi-fancy ‘real’ pie filling. I love using fruits that are in season so this pie was a perfect way to showcase

FullSizeRender-5

Nectarine & Blueberry Pie (paleo, dairy, sugar, grain-free)

1 recipe of my Graham cracker pie crust

Filling:
1 pint fresh blueberries
5 nectarines, peeled and chopped
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
zest of 1 lemon
juice of 1 lemon
2 tbsp honey (can use maple syrup, coconut sugar or any other sweetener)
2 tbsp tapioca flour

// Combine all filling ingredients except the blueberries and tapioca flour in a pot over medium heat. Cook it down until the nectarines are slightly soft.
Add the flour to the pot and cook until the nectarines are almost mushy and flour has dissolved.
Pour into a bowl and add blueberries.
Let the mixture sit and cool to room temperature.
Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350.
Prepare the crust and flatten dough into a pie pan.
Bake the crust for 5-7 min or until it’s slightly golden.
Place the crust in the freezer for 30 min.
Remove from the freezer and pour the filling into the pie pan and continue baking for another 15-20 min.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Baking Fail | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

