Crockpot Pesto Chicken

IMG_4448

Spent my Sunday third-wheelin’ (again) in the cute riverside town of Stillwater, MN. It was a scorcher and this picture perfectly captures everything about my weekend. My sister was examining her bf’s back sweat in horror…

Since it was so hot out I didn’t want to slave over the stove or turn on the oven, so that left one thing… THE CROCKPOT! Who doesn’t love a recipe that (can) takes 5 minutes to prepare, provided you don’t get sidetracked?

I use my crockpot religiously when making chicken. I hate working with raw meat, so I love that I just cut open the package of chicken, and dump it into the crockpot. If I’m feeling ambitious in the slightest I will add something besides chicken stock or water to it, but my go to recipe when I want a ton of shredded chicken for the week is just chicken + liquid.

I had the urge to get really fancy šŸ˜‰ the other night and decided to add real flavor to my crockpot. Actually, it’s more like I had a bunch of roasted jalapeƱo pesto to use up, so I threw it in with the chicken. The addition of the pesto really added a lot of flavor to otherwise kind of boring shredded chicken. You can throw a jar of almost anything into a crockpot with some chicken breasts. If I have a jar of salsa on hand, I’ll throw that in there. Any pesto also works great. It’s the worlds easiest way to cook up some protein.

Thank you Crockpot for keeping me fed when my apartment has no AC!!!

Crockpot Pesto Chicken

4 large chicken breasts (boneless, skinless chicken thighs are even better/juicier)
1 cup or jar ofĀ roasted jalapeƱo pesto
1/2 cup water or chicken stock

// Throw all ingredients in the crockpot.
Cook on low for 4-6 hours or until it shreds easily with a fork.
Remove chicken from crockpot and let cool before shredding.
Store in airtight containers with some of the liquid from the crockpot so it stays juicy.

Leave a Reply

