My Kryptonite (chocolate) Recipe

Ask anyone in my life who knows me fairly well; I LUV chocolate. Not the super sweet, milk chocolate junk. DARK DARK chocolate. I had 100% cacao once and while everyone else was cringing over it’s super bitter taste, I was drooling over it and scheming a way to take the rest of the bar! Frankly, I didn’t really have to fight anyone for it.

I’ve come across a lot a recipes for making chocolate but I never happen to have all the weird ingredients to make it true ‘chocolate’ so I’ve simplified it so I always have the ingredients on hand. Once I make a huge batch of it, it rarely lasts more than a couple days, sadly.

I told you I’m in love with the dark stuff…

I’ve even kind of converted my Oreo loving roommates to my super bitter chocolate. The best part about this recipe is that it can easily be made sweeter with just 1 (or 2) ingredients.

I do recommend making small batches of this stuff, so you don’t end up an addict like me. I also mention that you can add toppings to it to make it more fancy, but I’m a purest so I usually opt out of add-ons.

Almost took a bite before the pic...

Almost took a bite before the pic…

Chocolate Chunks

3/4 cup cocoa powder (I use Trader Joe’s brand, but any will work)
1/2 cup coconut oil or palm shortening, melted
1 tsp honey or maple syrup (add more or less depending on how sweet you want it)
optional toppings: slivered almonds/any nut, coconut flakes, crushed cacao nibs

// Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until smooth.
Line a small pan with tin foil or parchment and spread the chocolate mix evenly onto the pan.
Place in freezer for at least an hour, or until frozen solid.
Cut or break into chunks and store in airtight container in freezer.

FullSizeRender-7 FullSizeRender-9

Leave a Reply

