Cucumber & Tomato Salad

I’m always searching for new recipes to liven up my boring paper bag (not literally) lunch at work. I always bring a heaping pile of spinach, half an avocado, some protein and some kind of cooked vegetable. My favorite roasted veggie of the moment is cauliflower. I roast it in olive oil or coconut oil and salt and pepper. I could eat my weight in that stuff. It tastes like popcorn to me…

I was staring at the produce section at the grocery store the other day, trying to figure out a new veggie side. I was baffled. I didn’t want to just roast up any kind of veggie like I would normally do. I wanted something that technically was supposed to be served cold. Though I prefer my roasted veggies at room temp, normal people don’t.

That led me to basically the only 2 veggies (fruit?) that aren’t improved when cooked, cucumber and tomato. Never cook a cucumber, by the way. The simplest recipe in the world came to mind, and now I have a new vegetable side to quickly add to my packed lunch for the week!

FullSizeRender-4

Cucumber & Tomato Salad

Dressing:
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
salt & pepper

2 cucumbers, chopped
8 small Roma tomatoes, chopped

// Combine dressing ingredients in a jar, and shake until completely combined.
Add dressing to a bowl with the chopped vegetables.

That’s it. Easiest lunch or dinner side EVER!

Leave a Reply

