Roasted Jalapeño Pesto (dairy-free)

I decided to escape the city this weekend in search of a large (less crowded) body of water to stay cool in, and obviously that led me to my parents house.

I don’t really consider it “home” anymore after living in Minneapolis for the past 3 years, but the small-town just 2 hours northwest of the city is still a place I treasure. I go back to my hometown on occasion, but very rarely in the winter. Summer is another story though. If it weren’t for the insanely boring drive to get there I would probably spend every weekend floating in Lake Geneva.

One of my favorite things to do EVER is just cruise the chain of lakes in the boat with my family. My mom always packs drinks and food (Mother of the Year) and my dad will drive us around for hours while we all gawk at the houses along the lakes (Real Estate Agent of the Year?) I mean we’ve seen the same houses for at least the last 5 years, but it still never gets old.

One of my other favorite things to do while I’m at the home is take full advantage of my mom’s full kitchen. She has every appliance and ingredient under the sun, so it makes it insanely easy to experiment with different recipes. I brought home most of the ingredients for this recipes, but was happy to use her appliances (and a few ingredients) to quickly and effortlessly whip up a new pesto recipe.

FullSizeRender-15

Roasted Jalapeño Pesto

3 jalapeños
5 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 bunch cilantro
1/4 cup walnuts (can use pine nuts, almonds, cashews, etc.)
1 clove garlic
juice of 1 large lime
salt & pepper

// Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Coat jalapeños in 1 tbsp olive oil and roast in oven until lightly charred on the outside (15 min). Remove from oven and let cool.
Once the jalapeños have cooled, peel off the skin and remove the stem and seeds.
Put jalapeños, cilantro, walnuts, garlic, lime juice, salt and pepper in food processor and pulse until a fine texture.
Keep processor running while you drizzle in the remaining 1/4 cup olive oil.
Store in an airtight container for up to a week. It helps to place a piece of plastic wrap directly over the pesto so it doesn’t turn brown.

I’ll be back with my plans for the pesto later 🙂

One comment

  1. Pingback: Crockpot Pesto Chicken | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

