Rachel Makes Dinner & Third-Wheels

Normally when someone asks you to come over for dinner that doesn’t mean you bring ALL the ingredients AND cook it in THEIR kitchen, but that’s exactly what my sister meant the other night when she invited me over for dinner. She insisted I come over and make dinner with her and her boyfriend, but I knew it was going to be me making dinner for the two of them. It’s just what ends up happening. It’s probably because I’m the better cook, but I don’t mind as long as she provides her insanely sanitary kitchen (she’s a clean freak).

I trekked over to her apartment on Sunday night with my ingredients to make a nice twin-approved dinner. Our apartment buildings are kiddie-corner from each other so it’s pretty convenient of a trek.

I came bearing gifts of the sausage and sweet potato kind. I insisted she provide something for our “potluck,”, so she picked up some cauliflower and jalapeños, so I could whip up a spicy cauliflower “hash.” I use the word “hash” lightly because it was supposed to be cauliflower rice, but the texture was too chunky, so hash it is! I made the recipe up on the spot with the ingredients she had on hand, but it was pretty tasty, minus the cauli and jalapeño. The true test came with her bf because frankly, Laurel and I eat ANYTHING (if it’s healthy). He had thirds, so I’d say it was a success.

I’m gonna add this recipe to my repertoire for the next time I happen to have a cauliflower sitting around, which is weirdly very often…

Cauliflower “Hash”

1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
1 tbsp olive oil
1 yellow onion, diced
1 red pepper, diced
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 jalapeño, seeded and diced finely (leave as much seed as you’d like for spice)
salt & pepper
juice of lime
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

// Place cauliflower in a microwave safe bowl with a splash of water for 7-10 minutes, or until it’s easy to mash. Mash with a fork or potato masher until there’s still a little texture left.
Put olive oil in a pan on medium-high heat. Put onion, red pepper, garlic, jalapeño and pepper in the pan and cook until tender.
Add a large pinch of salt and add the mashed cauliflower to the pan.
Squeeze the lime into the pan and scrape the bottom of the pan.
Take off the heat and add the cilantro.

All done!!! I served it with roasted sweet potatoes and Trader Joe’s Jalapeño Chicken Sausage! Yummmmmm

This dish is best served as the third-wheel, I would know!

IMG_4401

Leave a Reply

