Apple Scones (dairy, sugar and grain-free)

I’ve noticed something about paleo baking in the last couple months that I’m going to have to just get used to.

The foods will taste delicious but the baked goods will likely never compare to baked goods using flour and butter. The texture will always be different. You can pretty much achieve the same taste in most recipes though.

After getting drinks on Friday night, I came home and really had the urge to just eat any cookie I could find hidden in the depths of my apartment, BUT NO. First of all my roommates would never forgive me for eating their sugar despite my rants about how “sugar is the enemy,” and secondly my stomach would despise me even more. Lose, lose! So my third option was to make myself a treat that wouldn’t put me to bed by 9 pm with stomach pains.

Apple “scones” to the rescue!

Recipe adapted from Colorful Eats “Grain-Free Strawberry Scones”

FullSizeRender-13

Apple Scones (dairy, sugar and grain-free)

2 1/4 cup almond flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill but Honeyville is a better texture for baking)
2 eggs, room temperature
4 tbsp coconut flour
4 tbsp coconut milk
3 tbsp coconut oil (butter or ghee)
1 tbsp honey
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of nutmeg
dash of salt
1 medium apple, diced into small pieces
juice of 1/2 a lemon

// Combine all ingredient except for the apple and lemon juice in a medium bowl and mix thoroughly using either a mixer or spatula.
Combine diced apple and lemon juice in a separate bowl. Make sure apple is coated in juice.
Fold the apples into the scones batter.
Chill the dough for 30 min to an hour.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spoon small balls onto a greased or parchment lined baking sheet.
Bake for 12-15 min or until slightly golden but still not firm. They will set when they cool.

FullSizeRender-12I made mine a bit small, but I’m into bite-size foods.

I can definitely say it was way better than eating a pack of Oreos too!!

Will.Power.

Leave a Reply

