“Hotdish” (dairy-free, grain-free)

Growing up in Minnesota, there’s this thing called a “Hotdish.” They come in all forms, but I was told that it can only be considered a true “Hotdish” if it contains a can of Campbell’s soup (usually cream of mushroom). Well I don’t like fake gel/liquid, aka Campbell’s soup, so I usually turned my nose up whenever my mom made it. I believe the rest of the world considers it a “Casserole,” in case you’re confused.

I had one especially bad experience with this typical Minnesota dish growing up. I’m not going to go into detail but let’s just say the tater tot hotdish served one particular day for school lunch didn’t quite settle in too well. I’m forever scarred by that day. Also, I found that according to google, tater tot hotdish is quite popular…

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 12.10.21 PMOnce my sisters and I got older (and less picky) my mom started making us real food for dinner, instead of canned foods and more Tuna Helper than I would like to admit. I’m very grateful for her change in menu, but I recently felt like I should rid myself of my Hotdish hatred.

I came across Fed & Fit’s recipe for a 4-layer Casserole. Seeing as it fit all my dietary restrictions, I felt it was the perfect time to make a new Hotdish memory, and I was confident it wouldn’t end in some form of tater-tot vomit again (too much information?).

The recipe is super simple even though it seems like a daunting task with all the layers involved. I turned to my trusty microwave for most of the steps which allowed me to save a lot of time. From start to finish it only took me around 45 minutes. I also swapped out the ground beef for ground turkey, because it’s super expensive for me to buy good, grass-fed beef as a college student.

Adapted from Fed & Fit’s 4-Layer Casserole

Sweet Potato Mash:
6 small sweet potatoes
1/4 cup full fat coconut milk
1/2 tsp dried sage (I used thyme)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Cauliflower Mash:
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
1/4 cup full-fat coconut milk
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Ground Turkey:
2 lbs ground turkey
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium yellow onion, diced
8 oz. button mushrooms, diced
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

// Sweet Potato mash: Make holes in the sweet potatoes with a fork and microwave for 5-7 min, until super tender.
Pull from microwave and let cool completely before peeling off skins.
Mash in a small bowl and add coconut milk and seasonings.

Cauliflower mash: Place cauliflower in a microwave safe bowl with 2 tbsp water and cover in plastic wrap. Cook for 10 min or until tender.
Place in food processor and blend with coconut milk and seasoning or use a potato masher to create a mashed potato consistency with the cauliflower (less dishes).

Ground turkey: Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the ground meat and break it up.
Once it’s almost cooked through but still a bit pink, add the garlic, onions and mushrooms. Let cook for a couple minutes before seasoning, to avoid drawing the water out of the mushrooms.

Assembly:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Place half the meat layer in a 9×13 inch casserole pan.

FullSizeRender-7
Top it with the cauliflower mash.

FullSizeRender-8
Place the remaining meat evenly over the cauliflower layer.

FullSizeRender-9
Top with the sweet potato mash.
Cook in oven for 12-15 min.

FullSizeRender-10

Let cool and set for 10 min, and enjoy!

FullSizeRender-11

Leave a Reply

