Interning with Rise Bagel Co.

I’m so excited to finally begin working with sisters behind the very popular Rise Bagel Company in the Twin Cities. I saw that they posted on the University of Minnesota employment page back in early 2015, that they were looking for an intern for their growing small business, and I had heard of them and thought, why not? I know a lot about food, so I felt I could be a good addition to their sister team.

I was a bit skeptical that it would be an unpaid (yikes!!) internship, but decided to meet up with the sisters (Kate & Jen) for coffee to at least see what the internship would entail. I was terrified when they said that the hours would be Friday evenings until around 10:30pm and then we would come back at 3am to bake the risen bagels, and head to the market from 8-1pm on Saturday. I mean maybe they named it “Rise,” because of the early morning hours required for baking…

Despite the shock of having to give up my precious Friday nights to the carbs, I was very intrigued. I have always wanted to get into the food world, and this is a great way to learn the ropes of starting from nothing but a thought and love for bagels and turning it into something much larger. I was also just informed that they are semifinalists in the MN Cup which is a entrepreneurial competition put on by the University of Minnesota-Carlson School of Business. That’s a huge accomplishment for a business that has only been “running” for a little over a year.

I took my roommate, Dani, and we went and visited Kate & Jen at their tent at the Fulton Farmer’s Market on Saturday and obviously had to try one of the delicious, chewy bagels with their homemade cream cheese. I opted for an everything bagel with chive cream cheese and it was one of the best bagels I had ever eaten. Definitely the best in Minneapolis. Bagels aren’t really a thing in the Twin Cities, and they realized that so they took their love for bagels and decided to come up with the perfect recipe and bring it to the people. That’s what creating a great business is all about. I just need to find what I can provide that doesn’t already exist…
IMG_4249

For now I’m gonna learn as much from these awesome sisters as I can, and maybe one day I’ll be under my own tent at the farmer’s market and have the local papers writing tons of articles about how great my product is. I can dream can’t I?

I do highly recommend stopping at the Fulton Farmer’s Market on Saturday mornings and snagging a delicious bagel before they sell out (usually around 10)! It’s a GREAT way to start the day!

IMG_4248IMG_4250FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

