Pie Crust (grain, sugar-free)

My family considers me the queen of pie crusts after the one summer I went crazy with crostatas, but since trying the paleo diet I haven’t been able to enjoy a good pie. I was perusing the web and came across Against All Grain’s crust recipe using both coconut and almond flour. I was overjoyed because I hate using solely almond flour because it’s more expensive, and I try to avoid nuts most of the time for my stomachs sake.

I decided to make the crust one random night when I was craving something sweet, and I also had frozen peaches that I wanted to use up before moving out of my house for the semester. The filling for the recipe was just to slightly enhance the crust (read: make it not seem weird that I was just baking a crust to eat alone), but the peaches ended up tasting delicious with the crust. The real reason I love this crust so much is because it tastes like a graham cracker, which is easily my favorite sweet treat. Who’d a thought?! I mean it is called a “Honey Graham Cracker Pie Crust”…

The crust comes out nice and golden brown, but make sure you let it cool before cutting into it, or you’re gonna end up with a crumble and not a crust (which honestly would be delicious too, but trust me, you want the crust). I also LOVED eating the pie cold for breakfast. Easily one of my favorite breakfasts to date and it’s basically guilt-free 😉

I’m just going to give you the crust recipe, because the actual peach filling was not anything more than peaches and some honey and cinnamon (not really a recipe anyway).

Recipe adapted from Against All Grain’s Honey Graham Cracker Pie Crust

1/4 cup almond flour
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp coconut flour
pinch of salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
2-4 tbsp honey (I used 2 tbsp because my peaches were sweet)
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

// Preheat oven to 350.
Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.
Mix wet ingredients in a smaller bowl.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until completely combined.
Press the sticky dough into a 9-inch pie pan.
Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Let them come to room temperature and serve with your favorite filling or refrigerate and enjoy cold (my fave!!).

Not the prettiest picture or best quality but this pie crust does everything right!

Not the prettiest picture or best quality but this pie crust does everything right!

Leave a Reply

