Paleo Mayo from scratch

I’ve never been much of mayo fan (not miracle whip either), but when I saw how easy it was to make my own and not be eating a gelatinous spread with ingredients I couldn’t pronounce; I had to try it.

I was at the farmer’s market last Sunday and decided to buy some fresh (BROWN) eggs. Ever since leaving the land of non-refrigerated eggs (Ireland/Europe), I’ve been really missing real eggs. I splurged and bought them and then realized I could whip up some mayo with one, and then make coleslaw because I had conveniently bought at cabbage at the market as well. Things were just lining up so perfectly and I didn’t even plan it. I came home and open my carton of real brown eggs and stared at them in awe. I was so happy to have good quality eggs in my possession again.

It’s mayo time! <—- Never thought I’d say that…

“Mayo”

1 egg (room temperature)

1 cup olive oil

1 tbsp dijon mustard

2-3 tsp lemon juice

pinch of salt

optional: pinch of cayenne pepper for heat

// Place egg in blender/food processor with dijon, lemon juice and salt.

Begin blending and slowly drizzle in olive oil.

Keep blending until you get a smooth, “mayo” texture.

Leave a Reply

