“Fried” Plantains

I was meandering through the grocery store one random night and came across one of those “big bananas.” I’m not an idiot, I know it’s a plantain, but my friend had never heard of it. I have had a few tostones in my day so I was curious about making my own version. Sure enough “frying” plantains in a bit of coconut oil is a super easy and delicious snack.

“Fried” Plantains

1 medium ripe plantain
1 tbsp coconut oil
a couple pinches of sea salt

// Cut off both ends of the plantain and slice down the length of the peel. Then slice plantain into 1/8 inch slices.
Heat pan with coconut oil and place slices in the hot pan.
Let cook for a couple minutes or until golden brown on first side, then flip and cook for another minute or 2 on the other side.
Remove from pan and sprinkle with sea salt.

FullSizeRender-9

Leave a Reply

