Coconut Milk “Cottage Cheese”

Freshman year of college was rough in the food department, and I mean rough on my stomach. The volume and variety of food I ate in the dorms makes me cringe just thinking about it. Some nights I would go to dinner and there wouldn’t be any good meat options, so I would turn to cottage cheese for some quality protein. I’m also not talking a small bowl. I’m talking an average of about 2 cups of cottage cheese on any given day. Well fast forward three years later and I can’t even touch dairy without my stomach tensing up. I really miss cottage cheese for some reason, so when I came across a recipe for “cottage cheese” made with coconut milk, I had to try it. It’s very simple to make and the texture comes out just like cottage cheese.

If you like coconut milk, you’ll love this snack option. However, I did have to remind myself that it’s still not healthy to eat 2 cups of this. Moderation, Rachel. Moderation.

IMG_4193

Recipe adapted from Paleo Parents

Coconut Milk “Cottage Cheese”

1 can coconut milk
4 tsp gelatin (I used this)
1/2 tsp sea salt
Optional add-ins: honey, cinnamon, fruit, maple syrup, etc.

// Put 1/4 cup of the coconut milk in a small bowl and add the gelatin to the bowl.
Bring the rest of the coconut milk to a light simmer in a saucepan, and then add the gelatin mixture to the saucepan.
Whisk until all the gelatin is dissolved.
Put the mixture in a bowl and refrigerate until solid which is about 5 hours.
Break up the solid mixture with a fork until it resembles cottage cheese, or add it to a mixer and mix until desired consistency.

IMG_4192_2

2 comments

  1. Kim // Peeled Wellness · June 4, 2015

    I didn’t realize there was a comparable coconut milk option to cottage cheese- Thanks for sharing!
    Kim
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Greatest Discovery: Thrive Market | To-Eat List

Leave a Reply

